Submission to the Local Electoral Area Boundary Committees

From

Cllr. Frankie Keena

16th February 2018

To whom it may concern,

Thank you for the opportunity to make a submission on the Local Electoral Area Boundary review. As it stands within County Westmeath there are 20 county councillors elected from three electoral areas who work within a structure of two Municipal Districts. The three electoral areas consist of two 7 seaters and one 6 seater.

The Athlone Electoral Area which covers the same footprint as the Athlone Municipal District has 7 county councillors. As a public representative working in this electoral area and District I would feel that there should be no change to this structure. I have no difficulty in attending meeting etc anywhere within the District and through our annual budget we carry out a good spread of work throughout the entire District within the resources that are available. There is a great working relationship between the constituents and the 7 members of the Athlone Municipal District.

I would be of the opinion as to why change something when it is working well. Also it is important to note that Athlone lost its Town Council in 2014 and the public are still trying to get their mind around the implications of that decision, so by introducing another change it would definitely confuse matters.

Hopefully you will consider my submission in a positive manner when making your decision.

Kindest regards

Cllr. Frankie Keena